ASEAN Charter

ASEAN Charter

The Charter of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations was signed by the leaders of the Member States on 20th November 2007 in Singapore. The following is the full text of the Charter:

asean-charter asean-charter-mm

People-oriented ASEAN Community

Heads of State/Government of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, he Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, on the occasion of the 17th ASEAN Summit reaffirmed that enhancing intra-regional connectivity within ASEAN would benefit all ASEAN Member.

States through enhanced trade, investment, tourism, people-to-people exchanges, and development. Intra-regional connectivity within ASEAN would complement the ongoing regional efforts to realise a people-oriented ASEAN Community by 2015.